Planning Commission


The Planning Commission shall consist of five members who reside in the village and who shall represent insofar as possible different professions, occupations, geographical areas, and constituencies, and who shall be appointed by the village president, subject to the approval by majority vote of the village council. One member of the planning commission shall be a member of the village council. The term of each member, with the exception of the village manager, shall be for three years, except that the respective terms of the members first appointed shall be: one for one year, two for two years, and legislative member for term of office. Terms of office will begin at 12:00 midnight on June 3 of each year and end at 11:59 pm of June 2. Members may, after a public hearing, be removed by the village president for inefficiency, neglect of duty, or malfeasance of office. Vacancies occurring otherwise than through the expiration of term shall be filled for the unexpired term by appointment by the village president and approval by the village council. Members of the planning commission shall receive no compensation for their service.

Planning Commission By-Laws and Rules of Procedure – Adopted
Village of Decatur RRC Baseline report - Evaluation
2023 Annual Report - Working Plan - Here
Agendas and Minutes - Here
Orientation Packet- Here

Meetings are held at Decatur Village Hall, 114 N Phelps Street, Decatur, MI 49045 at 1:00 P.M. the 3rd Thursday of the month. 


  • Blaine Rex - Chairperson
  • Janet Moelaart - Vice Chairperson
  • Michele Gateley- Planning Commission Member 
  • Victoria Coe - Planning Commission Member
  • Cindy Pachner - Village Council Trustee
Are you interested in becoming a Planning Commission Member? Application can be found here


  • Christopher Tapper - Village Manager
  • Rebecca Harvey - Village Planner
  • Megan Duncan - Village Clerk/Treasurer 
  • Shantel Pentland - Administrative Assistant